UPass Program FAQ
1. Who is eligible?
The UPass is available to both full and part time credit undergraduate students at the participating community colleges and universities. You must be taking at least one class in the current semester, fall or spring only. At this time graduate students as well as exclusively online students are not eligible for the program.
2. For how long is the pass effective?
The fall semester UPass covers August 1-December 31, 2017. The spring semester UPass covers January 1-July 30, 2018.
3. What is the cost?
Each student is charged $20 per semester for the pass. The DOT has set this special rate for our students only; normal cost to the public is $63 per month. The transportation fee is considered an institutional charge so financial aid may be applied.
4. How do students get the UPASS?
There will be enough passes for all students but students are not obligated to pick up or use the card. Students can go to the Card Office located in the Student Center RM 106 to pick up a UPASS. It is anticipated that the passes will be available for the fall by August 1 and for the spring by January 1 however if you plan on getting a pass before the start of the semester it is recommend that you call the Card Office first to make sure they are available.
5. What is required for students to use pass and on what types of transportation can it be used?
Students must have a valid student ID to show along with their pass when using the transportation systems. Students can use the unlimited semester pass to travel within the state on rail or bus including CTtransit and CTfastrak, but excluding Amtrak.
6. What happens if student loses pass?
A student will only be given one replacement pass per semester. The student will be charged a $10 replacement fee. After that, they must wait for the next semester to get a new pass.
7. What happens if student attends multiple CSCU schools?
The student should only be charged once for the pass. Students will have to request a waiver after the payment of the first fee.
8. How do I use the U-Pass on a train?
You can board the train and show it when asked to produce your ticket. The conductor will issue a ticket. If you are traveling across the state line, you will be charged the fare from the Connecticut border to your destination (I.E. Greenwich to New York City). The penalty fee normally charged for purchasing on board will be waived.